Dependency properties fail to get the context of the parent

A forum dedicated to WPF version of LightningChart Ultimate.

Moderator: Queue Moderators

TRVRSE

Dependency properties fail to get the context of the parent

Post by TRVRSE » Fri May 30, 2014 1:57 pm

Preface: I'm new to WPF in general. This could be a poor expectation of WPF on my part.

Goal: I'm trying to bind the Margins property of a ViewXY graph to a property in the data context of the containing lightning chart.

Setup: I have a Data Context class that has a property SampleMargin.
I have defined in the xaml a lightning chart object which contains a ViewXY object.

My confusion comes when trying to bind the ViewXY.Margins property to the SampleMargin property of the data context.

I can successfully bind the SampleMargin property to the LightningChart.Margin property. But I cannot bind the property to the LightningChart.ViewXY.Margins property.
See the code below for binding.
Succeeds: Margin="{Binding SampleMargin}" >
Fails: <lcu:ViewXY Margins="{Binding SampleMargin}">

The debug output shows:
System.Windows.Data Error: 2 : Cannot find governing FrameworkElement or FrameworkContentElement for target element. BindingExpression:Path=SampleMargin; DataItem=null; target element is 'ViewXY' (HashCode=216817); target property is 'Margins' (type 'Thickness')
Are my expectations incorrect? Should I be able to bind the ViewXY.Margins property to a property in the data context? If so, how can I achieve this?

Data Context class:

Code: Select all

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows;
using System.Windows.Input;

namespace BindingSample
{
	public class SampleContext : DependencyObject
	{
		public Thickness SampleMargin
		{
			get
			{
				return (Thickness)GetValue(SampleMarginProperty);
			}

set
			{
				SetValue(SampleMarginProperty, (Object)value);
			}
		}

public static readonly DependencyProperty SampleMarginProperty;